Skip to content

Pan-fried Sea Bream with Mushrooms and Plum Tomatoes

October 2, 2010

This is kind of an ugly picture, I know. But in my defence, I was in a terrible mood when I took this picture and to be honest, I didn’t even want to eat it. If you know me well, you’re probably thinking “when would she ever pass up dinner?”

The answer is when a)  the cold virus is alive and active in my body, sending me into fits of sneezes so violent my organs feel like seizing; b) I’ve just sliced into my thumb with a pair of kitchen scissors, ironically not when actually USING them, but when washing the damn things; c) I have to descale the fish myself because the fishmonger frickin’ lied to me about the fish being descaled already; d) the meal just isn’t cooked well; or e) all of the above. (It was the last option. Are you surprised?)

I confess that the fish you see above is completely undercooked. I’ve never pan-fried fish before, only steamed or gently baked, so as my first foray into this whole fish on a pan business I wasn’t too pleased. Also, the skin stuck to the pan. Which is fine with me because I don’t like the skin, but for presentation it does look a bit naked before you tuck in. Anyway, here’s a haphazard recipe.

Pan-fried sea bream with mushrooms and plum tomatoes

  • 2 tbps of olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, smashed (not minced)
  • 1 whole sea bream, gutted and descaled
  • handful of plum tomatoes, halved or quartered depending on size
  • large handful of mushrooms (chestnut or white button will do), sliced
  • wedge of lemon (optional)

Heat up the olive oil in a pan until it shimmers, then toss in the garlic and swirl it around the pan, making sure it doesn’t burn. Carefully place the sea bream in the pan and let it cook for about 7 minutes (I cooked mine for around 4 minutes per side, which was obviously not enough). Add a few tablespoons of water just to create some steam and juices, then throw in the tomatoes and let them release their juices and mingle with the oil while the sea bream cooks on the first side. Remember to season the fish on each side! Turn it over and cook for another 7 minutes until the fish is completely cooked to your liking.

Remove the fish and the tomatoes from the pan and place them on your serving plate. Cook the mushrooms in the same pan that you used for the fish; season with salt so they release their mushroomy juices, then pour all of that onto the fish. Serve with a squeeze of lemon if you want – I don’t think it’s needed if your tomatoes are acidic enough.

Serves 1 hungry person.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tharni permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:33 am

    OMG it still has a head O_O. after watching ready steady cook for years lol, apparently to stop fish sticking you have to use a super hot pan and only turn the fish when its ready to turn – don’t force it.

Leave a Reply

