Skip to content

Chocolate Yoghurt Cupcakes

November 4, 2009

IMG_4598

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? What with trying to get the most out of my summer holiday in Hong Kong, disrupted travel plans, and the start of my final university year, I’ve found it difficult to squeeze in the time and effort for this blog. I’ve still managed to find time to eat a ridiculous amount, though! Just a warning: be prepared for a slew of backlogged posts from the summer.

These pillowy chocolate bites are delectable, and have that much-needed chocolate flavour to satisfy your cravings without the cloying richness of actual chocolate. I altered a recipe from Smitten Kitchen to substitute cocoa for the chopped chocolate. The yoghurt in this cake makes me believe I’m being healthy for a moment, and then you remember how much sugar goes into it! That said, I used low-fat natural yoghurt and they still came out moist. You can double the recipe below; I just had to halve it due to the amount of yoghurt I had.

Chocolate Yoghurt Cupcakes

  • 62.5 ml flavourless-tasting oil
  • 62.5 ml natural yoghurt
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 1.5 eggs (I beat two eggs separately and tried to approximate half of one once beaten)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 70 g self-rising flour
  • 30 g cocoa

Preheat the oven to 180C. Prepare your muffin tins by placing cupcake cases in them.

Combine the oil, yoghurt, sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract. Sift in the flour and cocoa and mix gently until just incorporated. Spoon the batter into the liners until they’re about 3/4 full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until they spring back when touched lightly in the centre.

Makes 8 cupcakes.

IMG_4596Let me warn you: they’re extremely addicting. They’re just as tasty the next day, as well. And yes, I had two for breakfast.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Saba permalink
    November 5, 2009 2:16 pm

    They look so good!

Leave a Reply

