Skip to content

Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

July 18, 2009

IMG_4342

These were for a friend’s birthday. I had envisioned delicate, moist cupcakes with a fluffy buttercream frosting piped on with a 1M tip, until I remembered my piping materials were back home in Hong Kong. So I decided to go with a chocolate ganache frosting. As you can see, I didn’t properly measure my cream to chocolate ratio, and it was far more runny at room temperature than I expected. I had to transport these across central London as well, and it was a blisteringly hot day for the country; almost 30C. I’m sure they made a nice mess when my friend finally opened them at home.

I should mention that while shopping for ingredients, I forgot to buy cream and was too lazy to run back to the grocery store. I used evaporated milk as a substitute; tastewise, there isn’t much difference, but I did use milk chocolate instead of dark chocolate (which is what I normally use), so don’t take my word for it.

Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

The cupcakes:

  • 175 g unsalted butter
  • 175 g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 175 g flour, sifted
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • a few tbsp milk

The ganache:

  • 225g milk or dark chocolate, chopped
  • 180 ml single or heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp butter (optional)

Beat the butter, sugar, vanilla, and egg together. Use a sieve to mix in the rest of the dry ingredients into the batter until there are no lumps. Add the milk in by the tablespoon until it forms a soft, dropping consistency. Fill cupcake cases 3/4 full and bake for 20 minutes.

Makes about 16 cupcakes if you’re using a UK-sized cupcake tin; less if you use an American cupcake tin.

For the ganache, heat the cream in a saucepan until it just starts to bubble; add in the chopped chocolate and take off the heat. Stir until the chocolate has been thoroughly incorporated into the cream, and stir the butter in, if using. Let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting, lest you end up with chocolate all over your plate.

IMG_4346I tried to put less frosting (more like icing) on the cupcake so it wouldn’t run onto the plate, but it did anyway.

IMG_4345I just had to have plenty of napkins on hand when eating, that was all.

IMG_4349Look at my reflection in the chocolate, taking photos instead of enjoying the taste of the cupcakes! I’m not a fan of milk chocolate, however.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

