Skip to content

Primary colours: a light lunch

March 18, 2009

img_3868

Trying to be health-conscious and budget-friendly at the same time isn’t that hard, I’ve found, if a little repetitive. This is what I had for lunch a few days ago – scrambled eggs with sautéed mushrooms, kale, and tomato wedges.

Curly kale is one vegetable source that I’ve recently added to my growing repertoire. It’s cheaper than spinach and doesn’t wilt as quickly, which is nice in this dish because it adds some contrast in the different textures. To make this, sautée some diced onion and minced garlic in a little bit of oil, and add the kale when the onions are just beginning to turn translucent and the kitchen starts to smell wonderfully of garlic (not the kind of smell you want permeating the house, however – close the door!). Season as necessary. Pour in about a tablespoonful of water, cover, and let it cook on a relatively low to moderate heat until, well, you think it looks right. I took it off the heat when the colour of the leaves turned a bright green.

It was my first time cooking it so I had no idea what to expect, but it was surprisingly delicious for my first time! Its taste isn’t subtle, so it’s quite nice to pair it with something mild like scrambled eggs. Next time when I want to indulge, I’m going to make roasted kale chips and pretend the scrambled eggs are a dip. And I’ll add some cheese.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gabo permalink
    March 31, 2009 12:43 pm

    I LOVE KALE. It’s delicious, cheap, and one of THE healthiest veggies out there, seriously.

    Damn, I could go for those mushrooms right now. I’ve got a craving.

Leave a Reply

