Skip to content

Pancakes for One

June 27, 2009

You might think that being in London, I’m talking about the thin, crepe-like pancakes that the English people have deemed as their own style; I’m not. I’m talking about the thick, fluffy, light, and airy pancakes that my mum used to make from pancake mix in a jug, the ones that you just add milk to, shake, and pour into a hot skillet.

IMG_4253

I’m not even going to post a recipe, since these are so simple, but I followed one from Joy of Baking. I never ventured to cook pancakes as breakfast mostly because I never figured out the issue of cooking only for one. My stomach certainly can’t take a stack of 8 pancakes in the morning, but I wasn’t about to cook pancakes for my friends if I hadn’t practised on myself first. A catch-22.

Until I came across a handy tip on dealing with the leftover pancakes, that is. You can’t store the uncooked batter for too long because it contains baking powder that activates when dissolved with liquids, but you can store cooked pancakes. Once you’ve devoured your own stack, cook the rest of the batter as usual. Arrange them onto a baking sheet lined with wax or parchment paper, and place it into the freezer for about half an hour until partially frozen. Then you can store them in an airtight freezer bag or container.

To reheat, simply pop them in a toaster. I think I enjoy them even more this way; the outsides have a deliciously crispy exterior that you don’t experience on freshly cooked pancakes.

IMG_4252

IMG_4254Enjoy, as with many other things, with maple syrup.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

